The Mobile Customer Journey

Nowadays, the smartphone is always at hand. When shopping, looking for detailed information about the new favorite piece and in the evening for the best Restaurant in town. Mobile devices are used everywhere and serve as a primary source of information for decision-making processes, which is called the “mobile customer journey”.

This is a major challenge for companies. Marketing must prepare the content for that it is available to the potential customer at the right moment in the right place and in the right format.

WHAT IS MY CUSTOMER’S JOURNEY?

For more efficient communication and customer experience, it is recommended to consider the Customer Journey. It maps all the touchpoints of a customer with a brand, product or service. The customer is in focus and the sales process is viewed from the customer’s point of view: What steps does the customer pass through? Where does he contact the company? What is the experience of the customer?

In rare cases, the customer decides immediately to buy. Instead, the potential customer comes into contact with the product, the service and the company several times during the decision-making process. He informs himself in detail and gets different opinions. The duration of a Customer Journey can vary greatly – from several hours to several days. For companies, it is important to increase the demand for the product or the service and to support the customer from the decision-making phase to the conversion (purchases, orders or inquiries). With the increasing Internet use of mobile devices, all channels should be optimized for them.

THE DECISION TO BUY

Customer Journey Mapping can be used to describe the entire purchasing decision process. It is important to take the customer perspective in order to be able to visualize the Route precisely. There can be positive and negative experiences at every point of contact, both offline and online. Offline touchpoints are, for example, classic advertising ads, TV or radio spots, on-site consultations with salespeople and the exchange of opinions with family and friends.

The online touchpoints include the website, e-mails, newsletters, social media and information on rating portals. It is necessary to identify and eliminate the pain points that have a negative effect on the purchase decision. All touchpoints decide whether the customer is at the end of a target trade.

IN GENERAL, THE CUSTOMER JOURNEY INCLUDES FIVE PHASES:

1. PHASE: AWARENESS

The customer recognizes his problem or needs. Through a successful web presence with a high visibility in search results, the customer is drawn to their own solution and a first interest is aroused.

2. PHASE: CONSIDERATION

Through a detailed information gathering and by gathering opinions from family members and friends, the interest in the customer increases and pays the solution to buy.

3. PHASE: CONVERSION

The customer actually buys the solution and uses it.

4. PHASE: RENTENTION

At best, the customer is very satisfied with the solution. For companies, it is important to offer a comprehensive service around the solution, in order to impress the customer in a lasting way.

5. ADVOCACY

Only enthusiastic customers give recommendations and tell their acquaintances of the solution and the company, if they are satisfied. Word-of-mouth recommendations are very valuable to businesses and help create new jobs.

Die Mobile Customer Journey

Heutzutage ist das Smartphone immer zur Hand. Beim Einkaufen wird schnell nach detaillierten Informationen zu dem neuen Lieblingsteil gesucht und am Abend nach dem besten Restaurant in Town. Mobile Endgeräte sind überall im Einsatz und dienen als primäre Informationsquelle bei Entscheidungsprozessen, man spricht von der „mobile Customer Journey“.

Unternehmen stellt diese Entwicklung vor eine große Herausforderung. Das Marketing muss den Content so aufbereiten, dass er zum richtigen Moment am richtigen Ort und im richtigen Format dem potentiellen Kunden zur Verfügung steht.

Wie sieht die Journey meiner Kunden aus?

Zur effizienteren Gestaltung der Kommunikation und zur Verbesserung der Customer Experience empfiehlt es sich, die Customer Journey (Kundenreise) näher zu betrachten. Die Customer Journey bildet alle Touchpoints (Berührungspunkte) eines Kunden mit einer Marke, einem Produkt oder einer Dienstleistung ab. Der Kunde wird in den Fokus gestellt und der Verkaufsprozess aus der Sicht des Kunden betrachtet: Welche Schritte durchläuft der Kunde? Wo tritt er mit dem Unternehmen in Kontakt? Welche Erfahrungen macht der Kunde?

Nur in den seltensten Fällen entscheidet sich der Kunde sofort zum Kauf. Stattdessen kommt der potentielle Kunde während des Entscheidungsprozesses mehrfach mit dem Produkt, der Dienstleistung und dem Unternehmen in Berührung. Er informiert sich ausführlich und holt sich verschiedene Meinungen ein. Die Dauer einer Customer Journey kann sich stark unterscheiden – von mehreren Stunden bis hin zu mehreren Tagen. Für Unternehmen ist es wichtig, den Kaufwunsch bzw. das Verlangen nach dem Produkt oder der Dienstleistung zu verstärken und den Kunden von der Entscheidungsphase bis zur Zielhandlung (Käufe, Bestellungen oder Anfragen) zu unterstützen. Mit der steigenden Internetnutzung über mobile Geräte sollten alle Kanäle für diese optimiert sein.

So läuft die Kaufentscheidung ab

Mit Hilfe des Customer Journey Mapping kann die Kundenreise bzw. der gesamte Kaufentscheidungsprozess des Kunden detailliert abgebildet werden. Dabei ist es wichtig, die Kundenperspektive einzunehmen, um die Reiseroute genau visualisieren zu können. An jedem Berührungspunkt, sowohl offline als auch online, kann es zu positiven und negativen Erlebnissen kommen. Offline-Touchpoints sind beispielsweise klassische Werbeanzeigen, TV- oder Radio-Spots, Beratungsgespräche vor Ort mit Verkäufern sowie der Meinungsaustausch mit Familie und Freunden.

Zu den Online-Touchpoints zählen die Website, E-Mails, Newsletter, Social Media sowie Informationen auf Bewertungsportalen. Es gilt, die Pain Points, die sich negativ auf die Kaufentscheidung auswirken, zu identifizieren und zu eliminieren. Alle Touchpoints entscheiden, ob der Kunde am Ende eine Zielhandlung ausführt.

Generell umfasst die Customer Journey fünf Phasen:

1. Phase: Awareness (Bewusstsein)

Der Kunde erkennt sein Problem bzw. sein Bedürfnis. Durch einen erfolgreichen Webauftritt mit einer hohen Sichtbarkeit in den Suchergebnissen wird der Kunde auf die eigene Lösung aufmerksam und ein erstes Interesse ist geweckt.

2. Phase: Consideration (Überlegung)

Durch eine ausführliche Informationsbeschaffung und durch das Einholen von Meinungen von Familienangehörigen und Freunden steigt das Interesse beim Kunden und erwägt die Lösung zu kaufen.

3. Phase: Conversion (Kauf)

Der Kunde kauft tatsächlich die Lösung und benutzt diese.

4. Phase: Rentention (Bindung)

Im besten Fall ist der Kunde sehr zufrieden mit der Lösung. Für Unternehmen ist es wichtig, einen umfangreichen Service rund um die Lösung zu bieten, um den Kunden nachhaltig zu begeistern.

5. Advocacy (Empfehlung)

Nur begeisterte Kunden geben Empfehlungen und erzählen ihren Bekannten von der Lösung und vom Unternehmen, wenn sie zufrieden sind. Word-of-Mouth Empfehlungen sind sehr kostbar für Unternehmen und verhelfen zu neuen Aufträgen.