LinkedIn Ads

LinkedIn is “the most professional” of the most important social media platforms, which is now used by over 450 million users worldwide. And since LinkedIn’s main goal is to have professional connections and updates, it should always be part of a company’s social media strategy, at least as an official company presence, possibly as a career tool and employer branding, but more often as a communication channel. As described in this post, the advertising opportunities have now been greatly improved and more interesting!

Whether generating leads or building brand awareness, LinkedIn has a network of millions of professionals around the world. Clearly, XING is still a topic in German-speaking countries, but is losing importance. LinkedIn’s self-service solutions can be used to create targeted ad campaigns that match the company’s marketing strategy. In Campaign Manager – LinkedIn’s all-in-one advertising platform, ads are created, analyzed and optimized. Ad formats include Sponsored Content, Sponsored InMail and Text Ads in Campaign Manager.

Campaign Manager

In Campaign Manager, you can use the following features to manage and optimize your ads on LinkedIn:

- Dynamic visual reports with search and filter capabilities
- Overview of all actions generated by the content campaigns, such as clicks, likes, shares, comments and follows
- View the demographic categories of users clicking on the ads - at the account, campaign, and ad levels

LinkedIn Ad Formate

There are several ways to bring the message of the company or brand in the LinkedIn network to the relevant target audience. Depending on which goals and user groups want to be reached, the content can be prepared and the appropriate ad format selected. In addition to the display formats shown below, there is also the option of Display Ads. However, these are only possible with an account manager care.

Linkedin_Sponsored_Content
(Direct) Sponsored Content

This ad format makes it possible to display already published posts in addition to the followers of the company page to other LinkedIn users. Sponsored content is therefore native advertising, which appears directly on the LinkedIn feeds of the target groups.

(Direct) Sponsored Content Ads can improve brand awareness and perception. The target groups are made aware of the products and services. Interesting content can also be used to deepen and rebuild customer relationships and facilitate communication with the company. Relevant content can also generate new leads by recommending others to the network.

Publishing the following content is well-suited for (Direct) Sponsored Content:

• Links to current whitepapers
• E-books
• Case studies
• Specialist article
• “How to” article
• Visuals, that catch the eye

Linkedin_Sponsored_InMail
Sponsored InMail

Sponsored InMail is an ad format that allows you to deliver personalized, relevant content through LinkedIn Messenger. Messages end up in the members’ mailboxes and Sponsored InMail ads are also sent to active LinkedIn members only. ATTENTION: Especially with this format, the targeting is very sensitive – a direct message is always rather personal and you should not act too direct and promotional here, but necessarily have added value for the target group ready.

A combination of sponsored content and Sponsored InMail can optimize the performance of a campaign. The interaction rate and the click-through rate can thus be increased, as it only directly addresses those who have shown interest.

Sponsored InMail recommends publishing the following:

• Invitations to webinars and industry events
• E-books
• Product sheets
• Invitations to demos and signups for certifications
• Infographics
• Campaigns for blog subscriptions

Linkedin_Text_Ads
Text Ads

Text ads appear on the desktop in the column at the top right. They show a small picture and a short text (100 characters). Text ads are simple, but effective to raise awareness of target groups or generate leads.

With Text Ads, audiences can be optimized based on location, demographics, skills, interests, and more, and displayed according to available budget per click or impression.

The ad format is suitable for the following publications:
• E-books
• Product sheets
• Invitations to webinars and industry events
• Live demos and signups for certifications
• infographics
• Campaigns for blog subscriptions

All informations are from the “LinkedIn Content Marketing Action Plan” paper and more details you can find here.

LinkedIn Ads

LinkedIn ist „die professionellste“ der wichtigsten Social Media Plattformen, die mittlerweile von über 450 Millionen Usern weltweit genutzt wird. Und da LinkedIn hauptsächlich berufliche Verbindungen und Updates zum Ziel hat, sollte es eigentlich immer Teil der Social Media Strategie von Unternehmen sein, zumindest als offizieller Firmenauftritt, möglicherweise als Karrieretool und für Employer Branding, immer öfter aber auch als Kommunikationskanal. Wie in diesem Beitrag beschrieben wird, sind auch die Werbemöglichkeiten mittlerweile stark verbessert worden und immer interessanter!

Unabhängig davon, ob Leads generiert oder Markenbekanntheit aufgebaut werden soll, LinkedIn bietet ein Netzwerk mit Millionen Fachleuten auf der ganzen Welt. Klar ist im deutschsprachigen Raum auch XING immer noch ein Thema, verliert aber an Bedeutung. Mit den Self-Service-Lösungen von LinkedIn können zielgerichtete Ad-Kampagnen, passend zu der Marketingstrategie des Unternehmens, erstellt werden. In Campaign Manager – der All-in-One-Werbeplattform von LinkedIn, werden die Anzeigen erstellt, analysiert und optimiert. Als Anzeigenformate sind Sponsored Content, Sponsored InMail und Text Ads in Campaign Manager verfügbar.

Campaign Manager

Im Campaign Manager kann man mit den folgenden Funktionen seine Anzeigen auf LinkedIn verwalten und optimieren:

- Dynamische visuelle Berichte mit Such- und Filtermöglichkeiten
- Übersicht über alle Aktionen, die von den Content-Kampagnen generiert werden wie Klicks, Likes, Shares, Kommentare und Follows
- Ansicht der demographischen Kategorien von Usern, die auf die Anzeigen klicken - auf Konto-, Kampagnen- und Anzeigenebene

LinkedIn Ad Formate

Es gibt mehrere Möglichkeiten, die Botschaft des Unternehmens bzw. Marke im LinkedIn Netzwerk an die relevante Zielgruppe (Audience) zu bringen. Je nachdem, welche Ziele und Usergruppen erreicht werden möchten, kann der Inhalt (Content) aufbereitet werden und das passenden Anzeigenformat gewählt werden. Neben den unten dargestellten Anzeige-Formaten gibt es auch noch die Möglichkeit von Display Ads. Diese sind jedoch nur mit einer Account-Manger Betreuung möglich.

Linkedin_Sponsored_Content
(Direct) Sponsored Content

Dieses Ad-Format ermöglicht es, bereits veröffentlichte Beiträge neben den Followern der Unternehmensseite auch weiteren LinkedIn Usern gezielt anzuzeigen. Sponsored Content ist daher native Werbung, die direkt in den LinkedIn-Feeds der Zielgruppen erscheint.

Mit (Direct) Sponsored Content Ads kann die Markenbekanntheit – und Wahrnehmung verbessert werden. Die Zielgruppen werden auf die Produkte und Services aufmerksam gemacht. Mit interessanten Inhalten können auch Kundenbeziehungen vertieft und neu aufgebaut werden und die Kommunikation mit dem Unternehmen erleichtert werden. Relevanter Content kann zudem neue Leads generieren, indem andere Nutzer diesem im Netzwerk weiterempfehlen.

Die Veröffentlichung von folgenden Inhalten bietet sich für (Direct) Sponsored Content gut an:

• Links zu aktuellen Whitepapers
• E-Books
• Fallstudien
• Fachartikel
• Anleitungen („How to“)
• Visuals, die ins Auge springen

Linkedin_Sponsored_InMail
Sponsored InMail

Sponsored InMail ist Anzeigenformat, mit dem Sie personalisierte, relevante Inhalte über LinkedIn Messenger bereitstellen können. Die Nachrichten landen direkt in den Postfächern der Mitglieder und Sponsored InMail Anzeigen werden auch nur an aktive LinkedIn Mitglieder versendet. ACHTUNG: besonders bei diesem Format ist das Targeting sehr heikel – eine direkte Nachricht ist immer eher persönlich und man sollte besonders hier nicht zu direkt und werblich agieren sondern unbedingt einen Mehrwert für die Zielgruppe parat haben.

Eine Kombination aus Sponsored Content und Sponsored InMail kann die Performance einer Kampagne optimieren. Die Interaktionsrate und die Click-through-Rate können damit gesteigert werden, weil dadurch nur jene direkt angesprochen werden, die auch schon Interesse gezeigt haben.

Für Sponsored InMail empfiehlt es sich folgendes zu veröffentlichen:

• Einladungen zu Webinaren und Branchen-Events
• E-Books
• Produktblätter
• Einladungen zu Demos und Anmeldungen für Zertifizierungen
• Infografiken
• Kampagnen für Blog-Subscriptions

Linkedin_Text_Ads
Text Ads

Textanzeigen erscheinen am Desktop in der Spalte oben rechts. Sie zeigen ein kleines Bild und einen kurzen Text (100 Zeichen). Text Ads sind einfach, aber effektiv um Zielgruppen für das Unternehmen zu sensibilisieren oder Leads zu generieren.

Mit Text Ads können die Zielgruppen basierend auf Ort, Demografie, Fähigkeiten, Interessen und mehr optimiert werden und passend zum verfügbaren Budget pro Klick oder pro Impression angezeigt werden.

Das Anzeige-Format eignet sich für folgende Veröffentlichungen:
• E-Books
• Produktblätter
• Einladungen zu Webinaren und Branchen-Events
• Live-Demos und Anmeldungen für Zertifizierungen
• Infografiken
• Kampagnen für Blog-Subscriptions

Alle Informationen stammen aus dem LinkedIn Content Marketing Action Plan und weiterführende Details finden Sie hier.